焦點表演

焦點表演

策展團隊的話

策展團隊的話

我們是誰?

我們在藝術中探尋答案。今年,從我們對自己和對彼此表達的語言開始。台灣和加拿大都是多元族裔的移民國家。當不同的文化會合時,新詞彙就進到了我們的辭典裡,對話由此展開舞蹈的語言是普世的。

西班牙的傳統舞蹈碰上台灣的靈魂,會發生什麼樣的變化?當賽夏族的傳統文化與當代舞蹈結合時,又會擦出什麼火花?數代人的記憶和創意被我們的身體所記載。當我們跳舞時,不僅在與祖先對話,也在與明日的自己對話。

音樂的語言則超越了文字翻譯。

與加拿大華語音樂節 Jade Music Fest 合作,華語之夜邀請台灣、加拿大音樂人分享母語之於他們的關係。在華語的各種聲調中,他們發現了什麼靈感?我們的離散背景又如何成為舞台上的亮點?

未來建立在過去之上; 

現在是解析遺產、建構自我觀點的時刻。

我們是誰?

我們在藝術中探尋答案。今年,從我們對自己和對彼此表達的語言開始。台灣和加拿大都是多元族裔的移民國家。當不同的文化會合時,新詞彙就進到了我們的辭典裡,對話由此展開舞蹈的語言是普世的。

西班牙的傳統舞蹈碰上台灣的靈魂,會發生什麼樣的變化?當賽夏族的傳統文化與當代舞蹈結合時,又會擦出什麼火花?數代人的記憶和創意被我們的身體所記載。當我們跳舞時,不僅在與祖先對話,也在與明日的自己對話。

音樂的語言則超越了文字翻譯。

與加拿大華語音樂節 Jade Music Fest 合作,華語之夜邀請台灣、加拿大音樂人分享母語之於他們的關係。在華語的各種聲調中,他們發現了什麼靈感?我們的離散背景又如何成為舞台上的亮點?

未來建立在過去之上; 

現在是解析遺產、建構自我觀點的時刻。

了解更多

節目介紹

從西班牙佛朗明哥舞蹈看台灣的靈魂,從三代人的相繼遠行看生命的踩踏。

絲釋民對賽夏族的靈魂概念深具個⼈化的詮釋,認為它是⼀種通過⾝體與⽂化相結合的表達⽅式。賽夏族的靈魂不僅是⼀種⽂化⾝份的象徵,也是⼀種責任和重擔, 它通過傳統的舞蹈、歌曲和儀式來持續傳承。

台語獨立樂團百合花拼接傳統與現代音樂,打造專屬台灣的新曲風。

百城透過英語、華語、粵語三語的音樂創作分享他的生命故事:年幼移民到加拿大、在多倫多成長,現在則成為國際巡演的音樂家。

與我們連絡

表演 / 攤商 / 贊助合作機會

溫哥華台灣文化節非常感謝能夠在海岸薩利希人馬斯琴族、史戈米殊族和特斯利沃圖族代代相傳且未曾退讓的土地上發生。原住民族對土地的守護使眾人有幸能於此聚集,我們為此感激並將致力於與這片土地上的原住民在尊重其表述的基礎上共同合作,實踐富有意義的文化對話及和解工程。

訂閱活動訊息

接收即時通知與更多服務

FEATURED PERFORMANCES

FEATURED PERFORMANCES

Our Thoughts

Our Thoughts

Within the sphere of the arts, we explore the answer to the question “Who are we?” This year, in our journey of BECOMING ME, we start with the languages we speak to ourselves and to each other. Taiwan, like Canada, is a land of migrants and diverse communities. When these different cultures settle together, new words enter our dictionaries, and a dialogue is born.

The language of dance is one that is universal. How does a traditional dance from Spain transform when brought back to Taiwan, where people in the mountains dance barefoot and free? What kind of sparks fly when traditional Saisiyat culture is merged with contemporary dance? Generations of memories and creativity are carried within our bodies. When we dance, we speak not only to our ancestors, but also to who we are tomorrow.

The language of music is one that can be translated beyond words. In collaboration with Jade Music Fest, TAIWANfest presents artists from Taiwan, Hong Kong, and Canada that delve into the relationship between the artist and the mother tongue. What kind of inspirations can be found in the various sounds of Chinese-languages? How does our diasporic backgrounds add to the creativity found onstage

Our futures are built upon our pasts; 

Our present is where we unravel the legacies of our ancestors,

and create our own narrative.

Within the sphere of the arts, we explore the answer to the question “Who are we?” This year, in our journey of BECOMING ME, we start with the languages we speak to ourselves and to each other. Taiwan, like Canada, is a land of migrants and diverse communities. When these different cultures settle together, new words enter our dictionaries, and a dialogue is born.

The language of dance is one that is universal. How does a traditional dance from Spain transform when brought back to Taiwan, where people in the mountains dance barefoot and free? What kind of sparks fly when traditional Saisiyat culture is merged with contemporary dance? Generations of memories and creativity are carried within our bodies. When we dance, we speak not only to our ancestors, but also to who we are tomorrow.

The language of music is one that can be translated beyond words. In collaboration with Jade Music Fest, TAIWANfest presents artists from Taiwan, Hong Kong, and Canada that delve into the relationship between the artist and the mother tongue. What kind of inspirations can be found in the various sounds of Chinese-languages? How does our diasporic backgrounds add to the creativity found onstage

Our futures are built upon our pasts; 

Our present is where we unravel the legacies of our ancestors,

and create our own narrative.

Read More

Program List

The story of Taiwan through Spanish Flamenco Dance, tracing Life's Steps through Three Generations' Journeys.

Experience the soul of the Saisiyat: a responsibility and something passed down through traditional dances, songs, and rituals.

Taiwanese indie band Lilium blends traditional elements with contemporary rock, creating a new style of Taiwanese classic music.

Indie folk nomad Tennyson King sings in English, Mandarin, Cantonese to share his journey from immigrating to Canada to performing across the globe.

Contact Us

Performance / Vendor / Sponsorship Opportunities

TAIWANfest Vancouver is grateful to be held on the traditional, ancestral, and unceded territories of the Coast Salish peoples of the xʷməθkwəy̓əm (Musqueam Indian Band), Skwxwú7mesh (Squamish Nation), and Səl̓ílwətaɬ (Tsleil-Waututh Nation). We acknowledge our privilege to be gathered here, and commit to work with and be respectful to the Indigenous peoples of this land while we engage in meaningful conversations of culture and reconciliation.

Join Our Newsletter

For Early Announcements And More